Students Corner

Information on Nigeria


West Africa

Map references:

923,770 sq km

slightly more than twice the size of California

Border Countries:
To the west Benin Republic, to the east Cameroon, to the north Chad and Niger, to the south the Gulf of Guinea

853 km

Varies from equatorial in south, tropical in center, to arid in north

Southern lowlands merge into central hills and plateaus; mountains in southeast, and plains in the North

Elevation Extremes:
lowest point: Atlantic Ocean 0 m highest point. Chappal Waddi 2,419 m

Natural Resources:
crude oil (petroleum), tin, columbite, iron ore, coal, limestone, lead, zinc, natural gas, gold, bauxite, bitumen, gypsum etc.

Naira (100k = 1 Naira)
N156 to $1 (conversion)
Pictures of Nigerian Currency
Pictures of Nigerian Stamps

Land use:
arable land: 33%, permanent crops: 3%, permanent pastures: 44%, forests and woodland: 12%, other: 8% (1993 est.)

Irrigated land:
9,570 sq km (1993 est.)

Natural hazards:
periodic droughts

110,532,242 (July 1998 est.)

Population growth rate:
2.96% (1998 est.)

Major ethnic groups:
Hausa, Ibo, Yoruba, Fulani, Kanuri, Ibibio, Ijaw, Tiv

Islam , Christianity, Traditional beliefs

Language (Major):
English (official), Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba,

Country name:
Federal Republic of Nigeria; Nigeria (in short)


1 October 1960 (from the United Kingdom)

National holidays:
Independence Day, 1 October
New Year Day, 1 January
Good Friday
Easter Monday
Worker’s Day, 1 May
Children’s Day 27, May (for children alone)
Christmas day, 25 December
Boxing Day, 26 December

Democracy, Presidential System of Government

National Capital:

Administrative Divisions:
36 states and Federal Capital territory; Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Gombe, Nassarawa, Zamfara and Abuja, 776 (counties)

1999 constitution

Legal System:
English common law, Islamic law, and traditional customs

Political Parties:

The following are the registered political parties in Nigeria as provided by the Independent Electoral Commission.
Accord A
Action  Congress of Nigeria ACN
Action Alliance AA
Action Party of Nigeria APN
Advanced Congress Of Democrats ACD
African Democratic Congress ADC
African Liberation Party ALP
African Political System APS
African Renaissance Party ARP
All Nigeria Peoples Party ANPP
All Progressives Grand Alliance APGA
Alliance For Democracy AD
Allied Congress Party of Nigeria ACPN
Better Nigeria Progressive Party BNPP
Change Advocacy Party CAP
Citizens Popular Party CPP
Community Party of Nigeria CPN
Congress for Democratic Change CDC
Congress for Progressive Change CPC
Democratic Front for Peoples Federation DFPF
Democratic Peoples Alliance DPA
Democratic Peoples Party DPP
Freedom Party of Nigeria FPN
Fresh Democratic Party FRESH
Hope Democratic Party HDP
Justice Party JP
Kowa Party KP
Labour Party LP
Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria LDPN
Mega Progressive Peoples Party MPPP
Movement for Democracy and Justice MDJ
Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy MRDD
National Conscience Party NCP
National Democratic Party NDP
National Majority Demoratic Party NMDP
National Movement of Progressive Party NMPP
National Reformation Party NRP
National Solidarity Democratic Party NSDP
National Transformation Party NTP
New Democrats ND
New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP
Nigeria Advance Party NAP
People For Democratic Change PDC
Peoples Democratic Party PDP
Peoples Mandate Party PMP
Peoples Party of Nigeria PPN
Peoples Progressive Party PPP
Peoples Redemption Party PRP
Peoples Salvation Party PSP
Progressive Action Congress PAC
Progressive Peoples Alliance PPA
Republican Party of Nigeria RPN
Social Democratic Mega Party SDMP
United Democratic Party UDP
United National Party for Development UNPD
United Nigeria Peoples Party UNPP

Universal Adult (18 years of age)

Executive Branch:
President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR.; Federal Executive Council (Council of Ministers)

Legislative Branch:
Bicameral National Assembly, comprising a Senate – 109 Members; House of Representatives – 360 Members

Judicial Branch (Federal Level):
Supreme Court, Federal Court of Appeal, Federal High court

Educational System:
6 years primary education
3 years junior secondary education
3 years senior secondary education
4 years post secondary education

All tropical crops – cocoa, rubber, palm oil, yam, cassava, vegetable, rice, fruits, maize, cotton, groundnut, potatoes, sorghum, sugar cane, etc.

African Champion -- 1980
World Champion (Maiden Edition of under 17 championship in China 1985)
Runners Up (Second Edition in Canada 1987)
African Champion – 1980 and 1987
FIFA Under 17 World Cup -- 1993

Olympic Football Champion (Atlanta) -- 1996
FIFA Under 17 World Cup -- 2007
FIFA Under 17 World Cup -- 2013

Beauty Champion:
Miss World (2001) -- Miss Agbani Darego (Miss Nigeria)